Announcing the Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2019 Exhibition, Awards & Opportunities

Laura Hudson, Nail House Drawings, 2018, Charcoal on Wash on Paper, 126 x 96cm. Student Award 2018

We are delighted to announce the continued support by Trinity Buoy Wharf Trust for the Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize, the foremost annual open exhibition for drawing in the UK.

Selected from original drawings, the Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize has an established reputation for promoting, celebrating, and championing excellence in contemporary drawing practice through this open exhibition dedicated to drawing. Led by founding Director, Professor Anita Taylor, of Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design at the University of Dundee, the exhibition will include around 65 drawings chosen by an independent panel of distinguished selectors, and will tour nationally from September 2019 to July 2020.

Artists and makers selected for the Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2019 exhibition will be eligible for awards of a total value of £27,000 - a First Prize of £8000; a Second Prize of £5000; a Student Award of £2000; and a Working Drawing Prize, that has increased in value to £2000 this year. These awards will be chosen by the distinguished Selection Panel and announced at the launch of the exhibition and Awards Ceremony on 25 September 2019 at Trinity Buoy Wharf in London.

Following the success of the first Evelyn Williams Drawing Award in 2017, the Evelyn Williams Trust will generously support an award of £10,000. In 2019. Barbara Walker MBE was the first recipient of the Evelyn Williams Drawing Award 2017, and her solo exhibition Vanishing Point was held at Jerwood Gallery in Hastings (20 October 2018 to 6 January 2019) with loans from the National Gallery supported by the Weston Loan Programme with Art Fund. The Evelyn Williams Drawing Award of £10,000 will support an artist with an already established exhibiting (or equivalent) career selected for Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2019 to develop a new solo exhibition. The award will be made on the basis of proposals, invited from by the selected artists, and chosen by a panel comprising a Trustee of the Evelyn Williams Trust, the Director/Curator of the Gallery, and the Director of Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize.

On Thursday 24 January 2019, the awards and exhibition opportunities will be announced at Trinity Buoy Wharf. Attendees will hear about the experience and value of the Drawing Prize project from three of the beneficiaries of Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2018 – First Prize Winner, Caroline Burraway; Student Prize Winner, Laura Hudson; Andy Bannister, winner of the inaugural Working Drawing Prize - and Artist and Author, Professor Stephen Farthing RA, Research Fellow at Bath Spa University and selector of Jerwood Drawing Prize 2005. The film of Lines of Thought, a public symposium held during the hand-in to the London Collection Centre in July 2018, will also be screened, featuring Elisa Alaluusua, Tania Kovats, Anita Taylor and Barbara Walker MBE on the value of drawing and the Drawing Prize project.

Trinity Buoy Wharf Trust and Bath Spa University proudly promote drawing as a critical means of communication, enquiry and expression. At Bath School of Art and Design drawing is taught throughout its degree programmes and, in 2019, a new MA Drawing course will be launched. Trinity Buoy Wharf are developing a diverse and dynamic programme of cultural activities for 2019 that will further establish Trinity Buoy Wharf as a thriving hub for drawing. Details will soon be available.

The Call for Entries for Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2019 opens at 9am on 25 January 2019 and closes at 5pm on Wednesday 26 June 2019. Online registration via the dedicated portal and is followed by the submission of the actual drawings, of up to three per entry, to one of the eleven Collection Centres provided across the UK.

For press enquiries, please contact: Emma Walker, Marketing & Events Officer, Parker Harris, Project Manager for the Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize.
T: 020 3653 0896
E: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.